Who We Are

Leadership Roster

Chair - Mr. Andrew Suseland, Rooted IN Forestry
Vice-Chair - Mr. Edward Oehlman, IDNR
Past Chair - Mr. Travis Dunn, IDNR
Secretary - Mrs. Amy Spalding, The Nature Conservancy
Treasurer - Mr. Josh Wagner, Wagner Forestry

Submit any suggestions, comments or questions here.

Certified Foresters

The Society of American Foresters is certifying foresters who meet stringent standards for professional education, experience and continuing education. The program documents that foresters receiving certification posses the necessary body of knowledge to perform as professionals. It also shows that certificants are dedicated to professional standards and are willing to maintain their continuing professional education. Locate a certified forester.

History and Mission of SAF


The mission of the Society of American Foresters is to advance the science, education, technology and practice of forestry; to enhance the competency of its members; to establish standards of professional excellence; and to use the knowledge, skills and conservation ethic of the profession to ensure the continued health and use of forest ecosystems and the present and future availability of forest resources to benefit society.


Gifford Pinchot and six other pioneer foresters founded the Society of American Foresters (SAF) in 1900. The Society, with about 18,000 members, is the national organization representing the forestry profession in the United States and includes public and private practitioners, researchers, administrators, educators and forestry students. It is also the accreditation authority for professional forestry education in the United States.

SAF members subscribe to a code of ethics, the foundation for their professional behavior in relations with the land, the public, their employees (including clients), and with each other. Stewardship of the land is the cornerstone of the forestry profession. As such, SAF members advocate and practice land management consistent with ecologically sound principals.

The society publishes the Journal of Forestry, Forest Science, Southern Journal of Applied Forestry, Northern Journal of Applied Forestry, Western Journal of Applied Forestry, and Proceedings for the national convention.